Icons of the Journey

Painted in 1993 by Sister Barbara Anne of the Community of St Mary the Virgin in Wantage, these icons draw upon the riches of the Eastern Orthodox spiritual tradition.

As explained in the Gospel of St John, Jesus goes to his death, not as a helpless victim, but as a king. He makes the journey of the Passion knowing that he is the Christ.

1 The Last Supper

2 The Agony in the Garden

3 Pilate washes his hands

4 Jesus falls for the first time

5 Jesus meets His mother

6 Simon of Cyrene takes the cross

7 Jesus falls for the second time

8 Jesus is disrobed

9 Jesus is nailed to the Cross

10 Jesus bleeding on the Cross

11 The Descent from the Cross

12 Jesus in the Tomb

13 The Resurrection

14 Jesus at Emmaus